Coaching flexibility

Started by Johnny-bravo, March 22, 2018, 09:49:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Johnny-bravo

I am a fan of coach Miller, but I do wish he would be more flexible in adjusting to the needs of his team.  Below is a link to a good article from ESPN regarding Duke's shift to a zone defense this year because his players weren't committed/able to stop players playing man-to man.

Imagine if Miller had done the same.

http://www.espn.com/mens-college-basketball/story/_/id/22847137/ncaa-tournament-duke-blue-devils-mimic-syracuse-orange-2-3-zone-sweet-16

BDMT

I'm a big supporter of Miller also and would like to see him adjust sometimes. I believe it is best have more than one tool in your tool box or you become predictable.  Throw a curve ball once in awhile and see what happens. I'm talking about more than one  possession to.

abroadcats

I thought of us when I read that report as well. Things might have been different if we at least gave a try. Hope, CSM develops some flexibility in terms of that in the upcoming year
#BearDown

Bear

I thought I had read somewhere, possibly on this sight, that Miller talked with Boheim about their zone. Maybe it was wishful thinking that we would entertain running zone. Romar was here. Maybe that was wishful thinking too that he would open up the offense.

While we see him as rigid, it could be argued that he has been trying to adapt but his skill set isn't honed enough at this point to eke out those extra inches we are falling short. And then 3 losses in a row and other adversity come along and you can't see the light so it's easier to revert to what you know. Tough battle I would wager but one he needs to put serious work in to get over the hurdles.